Nixon uses cookies to ensure that we are giving you the best experience on our site.

Nixon's WTA J-Bay now underway

Nixon's WTA J-Bay now underway

Nixon's second stop of The 2012 WTA (Winner-Takes-All) is now in-progress and underway at the Billabong Pro J-Bay in South Africa.

This year the Billabong Pro J-Bay has gone from a WCT sanctioned stop to an ASP 6-star event. This change means that everyone from ASP vets and rookies to WCT surfers will be battling it out for the highest heat score and the WTA title. All surfers taking part in this men's ASP 6-star event are eligible to win the WTA J-Bay for "highest heat score" regardless of their seeding position. The WTA winner during this stop will walk away with a customized, one-of-a-kind Nixon watch valued at over $10,000.

This stop along the Nixon WTA route marks the sixth year that this "contest within a contest" has been taking place. The WTA was first developed as a way to celebrate outstanding moments during the tour and to add another level of fun competitiveness during these ASP stops.

The Nixon WTA J-Bay winner for highest heat score will take home a black high-polish Nixon 51-30 watch featuring a Swiss quartz analog with tide function, black sunray dial, an applied South African flat the 6 o'clock position, a white diamond at 12 o'clock and topped off with 36 white diamonds set inside the bezel.

Previous Nixon WTA J- Bay Winners for Highest Heat Score have included:
2011- Jordy Smith
2010- Taj Burrow
2009- Dane Reynolds
2008- Taylor Knox
2007- Kelly Slater

Video content of each of the WTA stops and winners is available at

The 2012 Nixon WTA Schedule:
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil for Biggest Air May 9-20, 2012 (WTA Winner, John John Florence)
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa for Highest Heat Score July 10-15, 2012
Teahupoo, Tahiti for Heaviest Wave August 16-27, 2012
Oahu, Hawaii for the Triple Crown Winner December 8-20, 2012