Nixon uses cookies to ensure that we are giving you the best experience on our site.

The Nixon WTA Tahiti is coming soon...

The Nixon WTA Tahiti is coming soon...

The 3rd stop of Nixon's 2012 WTA (winner-takes-all) is headed to Teahupoo, Tahiti, and this time it will be awarded to the surfer who takes on the heaviest wave of the contest. In keeping with the spirit of the WTA, the title and $10,000 custom Nixon watch is awarded for a standout moment during the event that may have otherwise not been celebrated. The WTA looks to commemorate crowning achievements for Biggest Air, Highest Heat Score, Heaviest Wave and overall Triple Crown Winner along the 4 stops of the 2012 WTA route.

The man of the hour to beat is last year's WTA Tahiti winner, Jeremy Flores. Flores walked away with the 2011 WTA title and prize for charging the heaviest wave of the contest during Heat 1 of Round 2. Who will take home the honors and title for charging this year? With a stacked roster of heavy wave surfers including the Hobgood brothers, John John Florence, Joel Parkinson and many more, it's really anyone's game.

Teahupoo is the ultimate arena when it comes to watching and awarding one select surfer for "Heaviest Wave". Known as one of the heaviest contestable waves on the planet, Teahupoo has been the muse of countless photographers and surfers and has graced the cover of many surf mags. Hot on the heels of last year's CODE RED swell, arguably the heaviest surf contest sessions ever ridden, this year's WCT stop in Tahiti is already full of anticipation.

The Billabong Pro and WTA Tahiti will commence August 16-27.
For more info, visit: &